Frank-Loebsches Haus

Landau in der Pfalz

Innenhof Frank-Loebsches-Haus

Innenhof Frank-Loebsches-Haus
Kaufhausgasse 9
76829 Landau in der Pfalz

Phone : (0049)6341 13-4110


A four-wing building with its picturesque arcaded courtyard and Renaissance stair tower, oldest parts from the Gothic period, all-round wooden galleries enclosing the inner courtyard on two floors. The inn "Zur Blum" can be traced back to the 17th century. The history of the Frank-Loebschen Haus is closely linked to the life of the Landau Jews. In the 19th century, Anne Frank's great-grandfather, Zacharias Frank, acquired the three-storey, four-winged building with its arcaded courtyard and Renaissance stair tower. The house remained in the possession of the Frank-Loeb family until 1951. During the National Socialist tyranny, the building served as a so-called "Judenhaus" (Jewish house) from 1939 onwards, housing the Jews still living in Landau. In October 1940, the Jewish citizens were deported to a French internment camp and from there to Auschwitz and Theresienstadt in 1942. Permanent exhibition on the history of Landau's Jews, documentation on Sinti and Roma in the Palatinate, changing art exhibitions.

Related Links

opening hours