It is a four-winged building with a picturesque arcaded courtyard and Renaissance stair tower. Its oldest parts from the Gothic period are wooden galleries around the perimeter, which enclose the courtyard on two floors. Guest house Zur Blum can trace its origins back to the 17th century.
The history of Frank-Loebsche Haus is closely linked to the life of the Landau Jews. In the 19th century, Anne Frank's great-grandfather, Zacharias Frank, purchased the three-storey four-wing building with its arcaded courtyard and Renaissance stair tower. The house remained in the possession of the Frank-Loeb family until 1951. During the tyranny of the National Socialist regime, the building served as the so-called "Judenhaus" (Jewish House) from 1939 onwards, where the Jews still living in Landau were accommodated. In October 1940, Jewish citizens were deported to a French internment camp and from there they were taken to Auschwitz and Theresienstadt in 1942.