Hohenecken Castle (ruins)
Visible from afar, this impressive testament to Hohenecken's Staufer architecture is situated on the spur at the end of a ridge. The ruins consisting of the upper and lower castle, including the outer ward and moat, measure 50 by 90 metres. The steep path up to the castle runs from the centre of the village past the Rochus Chapel through an old stand of trees up to an extensive castle plateau of the Schlossberg, standing at 376 metres.
Although the military and residential complex was destroyed by the French in 1689 during the Palatinate War of Succession, considerable portions have been preserved to this day. The mighty shield wall, 25 metres wide and 11 metres high, with what remains of the pentagonal keep behind it is particularly impressive.
Construction of the castle probably began in the second half of the 12th century, following the establishment of the Palatinate in Kaiserslautern by Friedrich Barbarossa, and it was extended in the 13th century. Until the 17th century, it was owned by the Lords of Hohenecken, a ministerial dynasty whose members were functionaries at the courts of German emperors and kings in the High Middle Ages.
The castle has a sweeping view of the Landstuhl quarry in the winter.
Guided tours for groups available on request
Hohenecken Castle Support Association: www.stauferburg-hohenecken.de